Themickey's Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by themickey, Mar 21, 2017.

1. themickey

themickey

Am creating this journal for the primary reason to indicate my gold positions exit, the entry signal was on the Surf Report....
    As I started this on Surf's Journal, thought best to create my own.

This post was exiting gold at the top: https://www.elitetrader.com/et/threads/surf-report.306890/page-42#post-4414846
    This post was entering gold at the bottom of a pullback: https://www.elitetrader.com/et/threads/surf-report.306890/page-106#post-4422492
    https://www.elitetrader.com/et/threads/surf-report.306890/page-127#post-4425159

I'm not sure how long this journal will run, will play by ear as time rolls along.

Briefly a background;
    Live in Western Australia, retired recently, have time on my hands to post more frequently as from when I was employed.
    Fitter & Turner (machinist/Fitter) by trade, Advanced trade cert, 1st Class Steam (boilers) cert, Restricted Electrical ticket.
    Have been off the tools many years, went into sales of industrial equipment, boiler components, gas and oil burners, valves-all sorts, steel, pipe, fittings, importing and exporting etc.

Have been trading 40 odd years, use and code in Amibroker but not a lot of coding is done these days.
    Self taught through the school of hard knocks, in the early days read lots of trading books, currently have 34 trading books in my bookshelf, borrowed numerous more books from Libraries.
    Spent many years creating my own indicators.
    Went into auto trading futures using SierraCharts and IB, created my own algos.
    I found IB was very problematic in tandem with SierraCharts, so finally due to much anxiety/stress threw in this project. (too many long hours)
    I was left with the impression that autotrading is probably best done as a team thing event, Coder / Trader / IT Person / Accounts-paperwork-tax.

The autotrading venture taught me better how the market operates.