Where to start

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Frabato, Jul 5, 2011.

1. Frabato

Frabato

Hi All,

I'm quite new to all of this business, I've spent the last three days trying to make sense of huge amounts of information on investing and trying to find an online broker. I've applied for test drives (virtual accounts) with genesis securities, global futures, cobra trading and speed trader. My wife is an accountant, she should be doing this but she has no time. I am a retired musician, I should NOT be doing this but I have the time. So, the first absolute beginner's question in this, I realize that low risk usually equates to low return, but for a beginner, this may be a good thing.
    Where do I start, stocks, futures, forex, options, other. I searched the forum for beginner's advice but I didn't find answers to these specific questions so I hope that if this has been dealt with before that some of the old timers would just be kind enough to point me toward the relevant threads.

Thanks!

2. As a beginner and one that seems to be looking into investing/trading reluctantly, I suggest you start here:
    http://assetbuilder.com/blogs/capital_gains/archive/2008/04/21/couch-potato-cook-book.aspx or here: http://www.bogleheads.org/forum/index.php

Most active traders, investors, advisors, and fund managers underperform the simple type of strategies that you will find at the first link. I am not against active trading and investing, I do it myself, but it has been a hobby for years, bordering on obsession. People that approach active trading casually, underestimate the difficulty, or the level of competition, will almost certainly be poorer for their efforts. If you choose to trade actively expect to spend a lot of time at it. If it's not something that sincerely interests you, don't waste your time.

If you do want to learn more about active trading, there is a newbie FAQ here: http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=78244