Recommendations on time-series price prediction models?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by jublin, Apr 5, 2021.

1. jublin

jublin

hi everyone, I'm new to the field of price prediction modeling and currently I'm experimenting the LSTM model. I found a few posts online, like this one : https://towardsdatascience.com/lstm...stock-prices-using-an-lstm-model-6223e9644a2f . They however all suffer from the problem that their predictions are not recursive. I took the trained model from the above mentioned post and ran a recursive prediction; the results are wrong and not usable.

Wonder if anyone can recommend a few time-series price prediction models?

Thanks!

2. ph1l

ph1l

3. userque

userque

What exactly do you mean by 'not recursive?'
    You used a pre-trained model from the website?

4. jublin

jublin

Thanks for the pointers. Seems like that you are hinting decomposing the price movement in the frequency domain? I did some search online and found some conflicting opinions on using fourier transform, like this one: https://journals.vgtu.lt/index.php/JBEM/article/download/2243/1799/
    Wonder what's your experience using it in practice? That's very interesting.

Last edited: Apr 5, 2021
  5. jublin

jublin

By "recursive" I mean to feed the output of one day as the input to the next day. This way you can predict many days in the future and use that to evaluate whether your model really "understands" the underlying dynamics or simply making silly guesses.

The website doesn't provide a model, but it's fairly trivial to follow to train your own.

6. ph1l

ph1l

The model is not created from a Fourier transform, and Fourier transforms (at least the common Fast Fourier Transform) are not good choices for modeling prices according to John Ehlers' "Rocket Science for Traders: Digital Signal Processing Applications."