Mentor

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by tradermike99, Aug 4, 2020.

1. Hi guys,

Hope everybody is doing well in this market. :strong:

Did you had a trading mentor at the beginning of your trading?
    I mean a mentor where you had personal contact or skype, not in a forum or so.

Do you have any tips on how to find one?
    And if you want to share some experiences from the past, we newbies really appriciate it.

Thanks a lot.

Mike

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. smallfil

smallfil

No, mentor for me. I am a self-taught trader. Made a lot of mistakes but, worked on eliminating as many mistakes as possible. Have no idea how you will find a mentor. It probably, will cost you thousands if not, tens of thousands if you find someone to mentor you. Lots of free videos on trading on You Tube and information on the internet. Much of what a mentor will teach you is already out there if you are willing to work to educate yourself.

3. %%
    Pretty much;
    I used IBD newspaper/jack schwager top traders books20 years+/.
    I seldom daytrade, except today......I seldom see a daytrade I want except today.I was hoping for a 11% profit on my inverse etf/but since it looked like the market may not hit that?? Noticed my longs doing better a bit so exit on inverse.
    And if I had to pay any commissions/I may or may not have even tried that...……..

drcruz and tradermike99 like this.
  4. dealmaker

dealmaker

No. The so called mentors that are available are generally not worth the paper their names are written on.

5. LanceJ

LanceJ

They can only teach you what works for them, not what works for you. You have to trade your own style. Figure out how you trade best. Takes time, practice & honesty.

6. %%