Best Book out there for n00bies

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by Desert_Dude, Feb 19, 2007.

1. Hi all,

My name is Desert_Dude and I'm a newbie..

***hello Desert_Dude***

....anyhow, I am looking for a good book to read up on futures trading. I plan on putting a great deal of time and energy into reading up on futures trading before I even start with the simulator.

Any one have any good suggestions??

Thanks in advance!!!

2. Drew07

Drew07

I bought a book yesterday titled "Getting started in Futures" by Todd Lofton. It looks pretty thorough and is targeted towards beginners. It was only 20 bucks at Barnes and Noble. I can't really give a review of it but someone else out here has read his work they might be able to help. Good Luck.

3. Thanks Drew,

I guess it's as good a place as any to start and for a $20 investment, I don;t see how you could go wrong...

;)

4. whats your background and age kid ...

5. LOL, kid... I haven't been called a kid since I was... well... a kid!

I am 33, worked as a Mutual Fund reviewer for a financial planner for about a year, 5 years ago. Was going to get my series 7 but never bothered.

I've been managing a mortgage brokerage for 2 years now.

I want to do this for myself as a "side thing" to see if I like it/can handle it/can make money at it.

I have heard all of the "my-life-is-so-good-i'm-writing-this-while-on-a-beach-sipping-pinacolata's-from-my-grasshut/office-in-Maui-making-$20k-a-month-trading-futures-working-2.5-hrs-a-day-on-my-laptop" BS that is EVERYWHERE in reallife and is especially prevelant on the i-netz0rz these days... and I wanted to see for myself what the h00plah was all about.

How about you?

A/S/L?

:D

6. dude

do not think finding "the holy grail" and making 120K from laptop
    in maui ... is that easy to attain

however the idea is pretty cool thanks !

:cool:

7. No, I certainly don't think it's easy in the least!!

Honestly, I'm not too sure I even have the temperment for it.