Ztradez - Trade Journal - 2013

Discussion in 'Journals' started by ztradez, Jul 13, 2013.

1. ztradez

ztradez

Hi all -
    My first post on ET. I do maintain an online blog but haven't posted on an online forum. (http://ztradez.blogspot.com)

A brief intro about myself:
    My dream like many others here is to become a better trader and to diversify my assets and income such that I am not solely dependent on my day job.

I've been investing for close to 3 years now mainly focused on SPX but have been trading more actively for a year to a year and a half. I've had my share of successes but an equal number of failures.

I hope that by being very transparent on an online journal I can be better at finding my mistakes and correcting them.

My trading style and what this journal will focus on:
    I trade almost on a daily or every few days basis. I swing trade, so I am either long or short. My holding duration is a few days to a couple weeks depending on the trend.

My weapons of choice are currently UPRO and SPXU. I may dabble in commodities but my aim is to first master trading SPX via these instruments. There is some decay but again I trade short term so decay is not a concern of mine.

Why I am starting this now:
    I guess this ramp from 1560 to 1680 has caught me off guard and I suppose I wish I had captured this much earlier. I've decided I can't let these opportunities go by frequently so I need to change somehow, perhaps structurally.

2. ztradez

ztradez

Explanation of trading style and rules I set for myself
    1. Do not risk > 1.5% of loss on total capital on any single trade

2. Always set a stop on each trade. The stop is a complete sell of the position not some cut the position by a third type of rule.

3. Do not trade on margin. All my trades are pure cash. I don't need excessive greed.