Zen-fire and future broker

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by heyaming, Feb 20, 2008.

1. heyaming

heyaming

Hello All,

I am new to the future trading and still in the middle of setting up my trading account. I use IB for my stock and option trading. I plan to continue use it for my future trading if it is good enough. I am also planning to get the Ninja trader.

On the other hand, some people mentioned that the Zen-fire data feed is the fastest and best. I am just wondering whether Zen-fire is absolutely necessary for scalping YM/ES? Is the IB data feed for emini good enough?

Also heard that AMP future and Mirus both carry Zen-fire + Ninja trader but they are expensive. Anyone has experience with them?

Thanks a lot.

2. The Zen-Fire feed is super fast, but it's certainly not necessary for trading the e-minis. IB's feed, when it works, it fast enough.

I'm not sure why you think Mirus/Ninja is expensive. Ninja is $60/month for the software (it's free until you execute live trades), but the Zen-Fire feed and the TT settlement fee are bundled into the commission. Not counting the Ninja fee (TWS is free), I pay a little less to Mirus than I did to IB using their unbundled rates.

Ninja has great charting and trade management tools, and excellent customer service. The Zen-Fire feed is highly reliable and it's true tick. Backfill is lacking for some of the less mainstream contracts (all of the e-minis are there), but they're usually willing to add a contract to the backfill server on request (the Ninja folks maintain the backfill server).