ZC October 10th DEC19-JUL20 Spread

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by gaussian, Oct 3, 2019.

1. gaussian

gaussian

I figured I'd make a thread for this to vet my idea. I'm new to trading futures spreads so this gives me a way to learn from some of the people better than me at it here. Please if anything is wrong tell me - I am learning spread trading futures.

First we can look at the term structure of corn:

zc-term-structure.png

Despite the horrible planting season, harvest season is off to a good start. The market is currently in contango indicating there is positive carry here. In other words, there is a glut of supply, depressing the front month (DEC 19) and bringing the further dated months (JUL 20 in particular) up. This causes carry to rise because more grain is being forced into silos since it is not needed in the market presently.

Now for the spread:

dec19-jul20-spread-100219.png

Pardon the axes. The dates dont make it clear what is where due to how long the data series is. The spread tightened pretty severely in June due to bad crops - naturally because there were a ton of people buying JUL20 corn to offset the probably terrible harvest of DEC20 due to bad weather in June 19.

The September 12th WASDE report:

Looking back, the spread shrank pretty severely with a steady ramp up from September 10th to now. The market seemed to react negatively to the statement on lower yield, reminding them of the bad harvest before. This is in contrast to the August report that read pretty positively in spite of the year's bad luck.

We are 7 days away from the next WASDE report and the spread seems to have flatlined. I have been unable to find any analyst opinions on the future WASDE reports with many people seemingly worried the crop yield will go down (and rightly so). This leaves two possible trades: