Young trader needs advice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by EvanDM, Feb 8, 2007.

1. EvanDM

EvanDM

I discovered this forum a couple days ago and have been reading a lot of the passed forums. There seems to be a lot of professionals here that know what they are doing and figured this would be a good place to ask for advice.

I am a 22 year old student with a little over $22,000 in equity positions. For the past year I have been swing trading based mostly on market news, recommendations, etc. I have done ok but nothing like I aspire to be. I am using E Trade and Scottrade right and I am in the market to change brokers because I am becoming more active. I have narrowed it down to Sink or Swim or Just 2 Trade based on commission, free streaming quotes, software and reviews. Does anybody use any of these brokers and do they like them? I have read a lot about Sink or Swim, but not much about Just 2 Trade.

But that is not the main reason I posted here. My main reason for posting here is to ask what do I have to do to take the next step to become a successful self investor. I know I don’t have enough equity to day trade; but what have others done to build up their capital? What strategies have you used; trading stocks with volume, technical indicators, etc? I am not asking for a mentor (even though I would welcome one) I would just like to pick the brains of the all the professionals. Any advice is welcome

Evan

2. Evan;
    I use IB. And you can realisticaly figure trading is like medical science;
    many years of school before you get to read charts, then intern,practice. And more than a few traders & Docs got out of the business because of the insurance prenmiuim/risk /cost of doing business.

I am re reading Jack Schwager top trader books again/again/again.:cool:

3. Trade small

Odd lots

Focus on the % gains not on the $ gains...this will prevent you from using too much leverage and over-trading

4. EvanDM

EvanDM

why odd lots?

5. tyler19