YM Volume vs. # of participants

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Ticked, May 23, 2007.

1. Ticked

Ticked

Forgive the newbie question/observation but...

How many contracts on average are most YM traders here doing in one day?

The reason I ask is that I recently started trading the YM and have been averaging about 10 round turns with 5 contracts per trade. That's 100 contracts total.

Based on the volume total from the CBOT site, it seems like, if my total is average, there must be less than 1000 people trading the YM. That's like this site and the Puretick room. I know that's an exaggeration but it doesn't make sense to me. I don't feel that I'm, overtrading so I don't see how there could be so few participants.

Thoughts for a newbie?

2. frugi

frugi

If you do 5 lots x 10 turns a day your traded volume is 100 lots but so is someone else's so based on 100k total vol. per day you can double your estimate to 2000 people. (I think).

Assuming my data is correct, based on volume / number of trades per 1 min bar the average size is about 3.5 lots per trader.

Of course this will be composed of plentiful 1s, 2s and 3s, fewer 4s-10s, fewer still 10s-20s, a smattering of 40s, 50s, 60s etc.

But if we say the average trader does 3.5 lots and does, say, 5 turns a day we get around 5700 people based on 100k vol per day. This sounds reasonable.

A distribution graph of trade frequency vs lot size would be interesting.

There are certainly a shedload of people trading 1 lots - have a look at time and sales for an hour or two. This fact may increase the estimate considerably.

3. Ticked

Ticked

Thanks for the reply and the calculations, Frugi.