yhoo vs msft which is a better buy?

Discussion in 'Stocks' started by abducens, Feb 8, 2008.

1. msft has been dropping which lowers the value of the bid for yhoo. If there is another bidder yhoo is a good buy here but if not then they both may drop. Is there a good way to play this deal or just avoid it.

2. jjk2

jjk2

msft will continue to drop b/c they will continue to bid for yahoo. and when they do buy, it will jump down as well.

i think this would make a very excellent entry point for a very good investment.

im not an expert im just trying to apply what i've read and learned....of course i might say stupid things but anyhow heres my opinion:

cost of switching, is one of Microsoft's economic moat and advantage that have kept them and will keep them in business for a long long time. Reason microsoft is doing so BAD in the internet business is that well, switching cost is not as significant (typing google.com vs. msn.com, hotmail, gmail) because everything is well do not cost you any actual currency.this is why, the internet industry requires so much emphasis on innovation, user friendly, and something that stands out, failure to be vigilent as you have seen the case with Yahoo, will get you in trouble.

Google may stand out as the #1 contender right now, but always keep in mind, the volatile nature of the internet industry, and the virtual zero cost of entrance to this market (facebook, myspace), and the disproportionate value they can bring in a matter of short time and cost.

Microsoft will not go under why ? because of diversification. they have fingers in all pies. they dominate the software, corporation solutions, but now with their planned yahoo takeover, attempting to compete with google again. for a crude analogy, if you look at yahoo and google, they do not have their fingers in the some of the pies, well because microsoft owns some of the pies.