Writing a training program, your input pls

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by Wood474, May 16, 2008.

1. Wood474

Wood474

Hey all ET users,

I have been asked by a company to start designing and writing a comprehensive training program for futures traders. This will not be like a 2 day course or similar, it's a full on training program, start to finish including mentoring etc. I have over 18 years experience in the business from trading, managing and risk. Where to start on such a big project!!!!

Obviously the course will cover all the obvious things such as fundamentals, technicals, how the market works, the particpants etc, trade and money management etc etc.

My idea is that there will be a general training course about the markets and the business of trading, to then be split into modules covering different product classes. So, there will be a module on equity indices, currencies, commodities, fixed income and the various spreads etc

The trainees will the then be backed and nurtured into hopefully great traders.

Off the top of my head I'm guessing it will take approximately 4 months or so to put this together.

What I'm asking of anyone who reads this is to throw in some ideas/areas of training that you feel are important, often overlooked, things you have perhaps been trained in that were of value (or those that you weren't and wish you had earlier) and just general things that you feel should be included in a comprehensive training course.

Couple of words/pointers is all I need to work from. Appreciate all replies I get.

2. Wood474

Wood474

3. Generally, I like to get paid for my work, and I most certainly am going to be paid for doing yours. :)

There is a general feeling of discontent with vendors on ET, especially those who train, or offer a signal or advisory service.
    Don't be surpised if your request and this thread gets a bit of heat from the rest of ET.