Would you rent an apartment to a trader

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by bearmountain, Oct 3, 2010.

1. We own a rental property in the city, an apartment which we rent out. Our long time tenant moved out, so we held a open house to screen new applicants.

We had this nice young couple come by, his wife is a nurse and he said a self employed trader. In talking with the trader, he said he has been trading for couple of years with 'mixed' results, he said. What raised a flag for me, was when he mentioned they just sold their apartment to raise money for his trading.

They would qualify based on his wife's income, but their budget would be tight.

So, would you rent an apartment to a trader? I am not interested in the rental aspect of it, but the psychological aspect of a trader. The gamblers tendency, the instability, the unpredictability of our profession. Thank you.

PS. I am a part time trader. Despite years and years of effort, never made enough money to make it a full time profession.(sigh)

2. "I don't care to belong to any club that will have me as a member"

3. sumfuka

sumfuka

In your case, yes. As the wife has a stable job. If it was just the husband; hell no.

4. A long time trader is everything but a gambler IMO (in the pejorative way)

If he's capitalized and savvy enough, he'll have the ability to pay you for a couple of years at least. So he's probably not worse than any other.

+ the wife's job ends the discussion!

5. based on psycological aspect of trading, if the husband quotes 'mixed results' and can't provide proof of income, he's a losing trader. 100%. ask for 3 months of monthly report at least.

6. Ask for proof they have a healthy cushion of cash in low risk things like a savings account. Most traders do.