Would you rather trade on your own making 100k yr or trade for a firm making 500k yr

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by discrat, Nov 11, 2006.

1. discrat

discrat

As a independent trader I haven't quite reached 100K a year. But I am making a comfortable Living full time for over 3 years now strictly on my own from my computer at home. And would not trade this for anything.

Not even a job trading at Goldman Sachs
    for 500K or even 1 million a year.

I just love the freedom too much :) And I hate Authority.
    Also its neat to get up in the morning and trade in your underwear if you want :p

How about the rest of you ?? What would you prefer ??

2. AO76

AO76

I would defenitely trade at Goldman if I had a chance. Enviorment is very important as in any job/sport.

If there are good people around you they will help take you to the next level.

It's all about competition and trying to be as good or better than the person sitting/playing next to you.

You don't get to experience this sitting in your underwear scratching your sack at home.

AOK

3. Drew07

Drew07

I'm in college so I can't really speak from experience, but I think working at home would be too boring for me. Having interaction with other traders throughout the day sounds a lot more appealing IMO. I'm surprised that you wouldn't trade it for 5x's your current salary....that's very admirable considering most people don't like their jobs near that much!

4. Drew07

Drew07

I don't think it's fair to say that he's "sitting around scratching his sack"....he's obviously making a good living and very happy with his career. Good luck with that chance at Goldman though, let's just hope they don't ask you to spell "environment" on a verbal skills test.

5. I think what alot of people miss here is how different the two games are (trading for oneself vs trading for institution/opm), with separate skills that don't necessarily translate.