Would Prop be the way to go?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by Hockey Trader, Aug 1, 2008.

1. Hi,

I graduated in May of this year with a degree in business/finance and have recently started to explore trading roles and my chances with them. I come from a NYC school that is not a huge target, but it is starting to earn more respectability on the street. GPA is between 3.10-3.30. I have no formal education in trading, BTW. But I do have a strong desire to learn about the field. I picked up a few books which I have started reading, just to get some background on trading.

Overall, I know I don't have a chance at the banks. Could I get into a prop firm and if so, which firm would you recommend?
    If not, what would you suggest? I'd rather not go to a firm where you have to pay your way in. Student loan bills will be coming soon and that will complicate things somewhat.:eek:

Thanks for the help!

2. GPA is probably a sniff low to even get looked at by any banks.

If you go pure prop, you will just burn through $10,000-25,000 in six months to a year.

Your best bet is to try to get in some sort of split where you don't have to put up any of your own money...but you pay for it with a bad split and higher commissions.

IMHO, go get your MBA and try to get a real job.

3. Study for your series 7. Get sponsored. Maybe consider Susquehanna or Assent as a starting point. JMHO.

4. axehawk

axehawk

Susquehanna and Assent are two completely different type of models. One is a proper firm that pays a salary + bonus and teaches you properly, and the other you just plunk down your $25K and churn away.

5. Susquehanna as a starting point? maybe if you are a serious quant. (unless they've added a prop arm i am unaware about).

You could always just go the retail "prop" route with a firm that will train you, and only demand 5k of your own money up front to trade.