would IB ever piggy back your trades?

Discussion in 'Interactive Brokers' started by Bluegar3, Dec 22, 2007.

1. if you have a profitable system would IB ever piggy back your trades or would they never risk such a thing?

2. rwk

rwk

Does it matter? If I am buying, the very best thing that could happen is for someone else to plow in behind me. The same if I am going short.

3. zdreg

zdreg

thx for a good laugh.
    (in any case there is no risk in reverse engineering)

4. Anybody running a profitable trading business...
    Is usually highly specialized and experienced...
    And would have ZERO interest in random "trading systems".

Like I've been coming here for 3 years...
    And have ZERO interest in what people are ** trying to trade **...
    But I occasionally get valuable regulatory information.

IB runs one of the largest arbitrage operations in America...
    So the answer is 1000 times NO.

But IB would likely manipulate your orders with SMART...
    And probably has dozens of sneaky ways to shave a penny here... and a penny there...
    All "technically" legal, of course.
    Or at least deniable as a "programming error"...
    Or at least just a $500,000 fine...
    Many years after they make an extra $50,000,000 a penny at a time.

If you are sending market orders into SMART...
    Then you are REALLY paying at least DOUBLE the fees you think you are paying.

The simple fact...
    That IB is routing Cutsomer orders to their IDEAL ECN...
    Is the fooking definition of "conflict of interest"...
    And should be illegal... but it's not... just business as usual.

5. No. In fact, they're trading against you the majority of the time.