Working with system developers

Discussion in 'Trading' started by nicbizz, Aug 8, 2010.

1. nicbizz

nicbizz

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone with experience working with system developers on their strategies could share some of their thoughts with me.

I'm a computer noob - working with formulas and basic macros on Excel is fine, but I don't think I can write what I need without a lot of intensive study. So instead of reinventing a wheel, I spoke to a programming house to see if they can help construct a small ActiveX app that runs through the IB API. it's nothing too fancy - one strat pulls results out of IB market scanner and executes the order (with stop loss) if it meets certain criteria. The other has no automation - basically an app to calculate and display the results of some technical indicators in numerical form on Excel for a list of stock. Maybe a submit button so I can execute the default size through the worksheet itself.

For something like this, what is the typical arrangement with the system developer? The guy I spoke to is asking for a commission basis, per trade, which I thought was exorbitant for something as simple as this. I can understand if it's a system that is jointly developed and optimized, but as it is, I'm providing the strat AND more importantly, doing the optimization. But then again I don't know what is the industry norm.

Any system developer or those with experience in the field could perhaps provide me with an indication of what is fair for something like this? Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.

2. No, it is outrageous to ask compensation on a commission basis for software devlopment only. Go to the IB website and look for programmers in the third party solutions section. Also, never give the original code to the developers but a variation you can later change yourself to what you want, otherwise, if you have an edge of some sort it will be wasted.

3. Nine_Ender

Nine_Ender