Wood's float analysis

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by Disqplay, Jan 28, 2006.

1. Disqplay

Disqplay

Does anyone here use or at least attempted to follow this theory of taking trades in the market? I purchased his book, read it and alot of what he says appears to be correct. After purchasing his book I also bought a program called stocksharev2 which was the only one I could find that had a float analysis plug-inn. I have been working with it for the last 6 months trying to figure out how to get a better edge on trading using this method. After trying many many different scans for stock that would give me a chance at seeing this method in action I think I have found what works for me at least. I realize that I do not have enough money in my trading account to go full time but still it does seem to work. I have taken 4 trades since January 3 and all four have been winners. I have netted returns of $240.00, $325.00 $240.00 and $180.00 on those four stocks. Considering I trade only up to an amount of $4000.00 per trade and hold no stock more than 10 days I think this is pretty good. Curious if anyone has any thoughts as to how to get higher returns. It should be noted that I have no viable intrest in either his book or stocksharev2 program, also looked back and tested over 200 stocks over a 5 month period prior to trading with real money. The results of the backtest were 153 winners 2.5%-16% with 47 loser with a max loss of 3% which is a number that I use as a stop loss in all my trades.

Robert

PS Love the site

2. gkishot

gkishot

I personally don't understand this concept of stock ownership turnover. So does it work: pick up arbitratrily any day, add up the volume cumulatively starting this day until it equals to the float and you get yourself change in the stock's ownership and therefore change in trend direction? This does not seem to me like a mathematically sound claim. I doubt also that even statistically it's true. Unless I miss something.