Wireless Internet Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Toonces, Jul 25, 2003.

1. Toonces

Toonces

I'm just starting to research this, and I'm a little confused on something.

From what I can gather, it sounds like if you have a wireless internet account you can only access it if you're within range (about 1000 feet?) of a "hot spot". And I only found about 10 in my city. So I would have to go to Starbucks or something to actually have internet access. I couldn't just go to the park and surf the net.

Is my understanding correct?

2. if u have sprint wireless with unlimited internet usuage on the cell phone, you can get a cord and hook it up to your laptop for internet access. my brother does this. he says its about as fast as DSL.

3. Earthlink has a wireless access service. I've been using it for about two months now as I travel nationally. I've had no problems with it and it does give a good speed in the connections. Go here:

www.earthlink.net/wireless

Hope that helps. :)

4. CalTrader

CalTrader Guest

"Wireless" is being hyped to the general public as well as to the technology community: the fact is that there still are few reliable wireless hotspots available around the country. Most of those available require you to pay and in general each pay hot-spot is incompatible with the others. That is you cant just walk from hot-spot to hot-spot without reconfiguring your connections. In many cases even getting the correct configurations that allow you to connect is a major problem: the vendors for many of these have made it truly onerous to use. The other issue - even for coffeehouses - is that they are often mis-configured and you cant be gauranteed even after paying in advance that a particular location will be working.