Willy Wonka & Mr. Hershey

Discussion in 'Politics' started by BA_Trader, Mar 19, 2004.

1. This is a bit of ramble about Jack (currently grob109). Before I continue
    I need to say that I think what Jack does is great and I have made great
    strides in trading thanks to his posts. I have nothing but good will towards
    Jack.

I'm a student. Student is just a euphemism for being net negative or break
    even. I am looking to change that and we all know what's available to
    do so -- and much of it is snake oil and BS. When I came across Jack's
    posts I found a guy who seemed to be shooting straight and making sense
    and claiming to be a successful trader. Well I started really digging
    into his stuff and it made sense and I was quite thrilled by it all.

Assumption: Jack is constantly saying that 4/5 people disagree with him.
    My assumption was that he is searching for the 1/5 who 'gets' him and tries
    to learn his philosophies... my assumption was that he wants a stable of
    (successful) traders molded in his image to prove a point to himself and
    his lifelong detractors. He is an older gentleman (I'm 31) and as you get
    older your motivations and priorities change.

After a couple months I've reached these conclusions:

1) Jacks posts are informative, consistent and helpful.

I'm talking about his signature long rambling posts. There are literally
    hundreds of these on ET and each one has at least one thing that can help
    you become a better trader. If you go back and reread some of them later
    you'll find something new. It does require work (thinking) and an open
    mind to get there.

2) Jack is not biased towards those who try to learn from him.

It seems that Jack doesn't care how long or hard you've tried to understand
    his philosophies on markets and trading. If your post interests him -
    he'll post at what he perceives is the level of the post (or just a little