Will this work?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by StarfishPrime, Apr 28, 2010.

1. Let me start this off by saying something about myself. I'm a pretty smart guy and have been searching for a profitable method for the last three years, but I've been unsuccessful so far. Not because I've actually lost that much money, but because I haven't quite applied myself to theories that could make money. Right now I'm a full-time student in college and I've been interested in the markets since I was 16.

I remember how it all (auto-trading ideas) got started when I had just turned 17: I downloaded some version of MetaTrader from some random forex broker and just kept looking at what all the indicators could do. I got to the Ichimoku Kinko Hyo indicator and thought, "wow, this almost cuts through the crap the other indicators generate." Then I quickly browsed through the docs and within a few hours, I had my first auto-trading strategy with super simple rules. Buy when the one line was above the other and sell when that line is below the other (I don't remember the exact names of the signal lines). Quickly after that I had to try the moving average crossover, just to see how bad it performed. It was terrible, as expected. Then I had an idea, why don't I just flip the signals? I autotraded the reverse MA crossover for two weeks on YM. Some days were good and some were bad. Overall, not good enough to go live.

Since then, I've experimented with almost the entire spectrum of trading ideas available to the retail trader from breakouts, support & resistance, and chart patterns all the way to looking for arb opportunities through forex "rings", spread trading (energies, bonds, including foreign markets), and reversion to the mean type trading.

Maybe it was the YM "fading" autotrader I created back in the day that spurred me, but I always come back to RTM trading because it seems so predictable.