Will Inflation Lead Growth?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by qll, Jun 7, 2007.

1. qll

qll

Unlike China, western countries worry a lot about inflations.

This is an academic question. Is high inflation a good thing? In the past, it is not in the US. But in Chinese history, high inflations led over-investment, but did not stop growth.

China has one of the highest inflations, but China does not raise interest rate fast enough to stop the speculation in stock markets and real estate. Everyone is still happy. Employees see higher wages. Business sees higher profit and higher sales.

Is this because most chinese have huge savings and tend to gamble? Or the inflation theory does no longer hold?

I remember when I studied Capitalism, I was taugh there is a 4 yr cycle: inflation, overinvestment, deflation. But this cycle never takes place since early 90's. Even the 2000 dot com crash does not slow the economy for long.

2. I'm not an economist but in my thinking, inflation is a problem if and when it's above the GDP growth rate. So if GDP grows 2% and inflation is 5% then it becomes problematic. The situation in China is somewhat a different case because of the foreign currency reserves the country is amassing due to its huge trade surplus. I don't believe any other country in history has had such an enormous trade surplus. This now gives them huge flexibility in their finances. Something the US is in no position to match.

As for economic cycles, they're still present just "different".

Who know what the *real* inflation rate is in the US. It's probably 5% and it is definetely above GDP growth and a serious threat.

The government keeps changing the way it's calculated so that they may screw those who are owed all those $trillions. I feel very sorry for retirees and savers in this country.