Will I make it or never post here again?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by jackassery, Mar 4, 2006.

Will I earn $1000 before I lose $1000?

1. Yes you will make it to $6000.

11 vote(s)
    21.6%
  2. No you will make it to $4000 blow your mental stop and lose it all!

33 vote(s)
    64.7%
  3. You will never make it to either and bounce around in a range.

7 vote(s)
    13.7%
  1. So I just opened a new account to trade futures. I've been trading stocks for the past 6 months and have done pretty well although that all may have just been good luck. I've been watching ES and YM and have been learning and reading everything I can about them and why I will lose all of my money. Im starting with a $5000 account and I have committed that if I lose $1000 I'll close the account and move the money back to my other brokerage and forget about futures for now. So my question to you all is in the poll. Do you think I'll make it to $6000 or $4000 first?

2. hi jack

what stocks have you traded ?
    ETF's like SPY and DIA ?

what type of trading did you do in stocks ?
    any overnight positions ?

did you ever average down a loser
    hoping to break even or show a profit ?

good luck to you ... but the odds are against
    a newbie making money esp in futures

3. Thanks for the encouragement.

I traded a little of everything lately teen retailers and tech stuff. I started strictly daytrading but opened up to swing trades when I saw that I was missing some long-term potential.

I averaged down when I started and that was short lived when I figured out that it was better that I just get out and moved on.

Yeah the odds are against me but I cant not try.

4. look ... do whatever you want to

its your money ...

but I have suggested to others

in small size .... while you refine your methodology

with ETF 's

SPY , DIA in this case as you wish
    to trade ES + YM

a few hundred shares max ... maybe even
    100-250 each trade with no more than