Will I always pay 1 point on the bid ask spread in crude oil futures?

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by Dan37a, Jun 16, 2012.

1. Dan37a

Dan37a

I plan to start trading crude oil futures, but my technique is fairly high frequency (about a trade every 2 minutes). Is it a given I will always pay 1 point on the bid ask spread, or can I expect to be filled better than that, at least sometimes?

2. dom993

dom993

You are confused ... 1 point in CL is 100-ticks, I have to suppose you meant 1-tick.

Then the question is ... what type of order are you using?

For STP orders (which I believe are managed at your broker server), actual slippage will vary ... I find 1-tick slippage on average to be a pretty reasonable assumption.

I have no experience using STPLMT orders (which do reside on the CME servers).

For MKT orders, slippage can be anything, depending on how long it takes for your order to reach the CME server & get processed.

3. +1

1 tick is conservative, you would be lucky to only get a 1 tick spread consistently in CL...

Market orders, it can slip harshly...

4. ocean5

ocean5

When i use MKT order,i usually get 2-3 ticks minimum slippage,as with the CL futures spread is often 2-3 or sometimes 4 ticks.It usually goes well for me when i use LMT orders.When you get the signal,use LMT 2 tciks lower/higher your entry.Just a friendly advice.

5. And sometimes it is worse. 1 car, 18 tick slippage on a stop order CAN happen.

6. ocean5

ocean5

That is why i try to exit quick,when i`m filled.STP orders are awfull

:eek:

7. Depends. It averages out - that was a one time occurance. Same happaned in YM if you were unlucky. THere was a time in the alst years where in YM the order book DISAPPEARED (same in ES) and the YM Was jumping 100+ ticks (points there) between trades.