Why would you want to be a guru?

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by Brandonf, Aug 29, 2007.

1. Brandonf

Brandonf Sponsor

I don't know if anyone will be particularly interested in this or not, but I'll go ahead and write it anyway. A lot of people have been starting threads about wanting to start websites to offer services to traders, others questioning why would any profitable trader want to “waste his time” with such a product or service. From November of 1998 until September of last year I ran one of the largest such services on the web and I figured I'd just go ahead and tell the story of how I got into it, how it worked out for me etc.

When I graduated from HS I wanted to go to Minneapolis and be a floor trader, I had saved the money to do so. Unfortunatly for me shortly after graduation it was discovered that I had a brain tumor and I had no to have surgery, but I had no insurance. No fun, there goes the grub stake. It was 1997 until I had the money to trade again, via a loan from Toni. I still wanted to go to Minneapolis, but my credit was no good. Fortunatly everyone seems to have a consitutional right to trade stocks, so I opened up my account with either MBTrading or the Executioner. I started off terrible just like everyone else, mostly the commissions where killing me. At that time they ran around $25 per side. I kept a job at a gas station on the side, and at night when I worked Toni would scan for narrow range days for me using realtick. Eventually we got to the point that we could cover the commission nut, and slowly worked into profitability.