Why not tradestation, TOS, Etrade......

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by greenmoose, Nov 10, 2019.

1. Okay, so I've been using TOS for at least 5 years now for equities, futures, options and have not really had any major issues. I'm predominately a technical trader and day trade as well as swing trade.

Over the last couple days I've fallen a little bit down the rabbit hole and cannot even wrap my head around all the different configurations people use in terms of combining a charting platform with a broker with a data feed............

I guess the question I keep coming up with is.......Why would one seek out a separate charting platform, a broker and a data feed? It seems unnecessarily complex. I do realize that many of the charting platforms offer a data feed and/or the brokers offer data feeds but it seems like all of this can be had through one of the more retail brokers such as Tradestation, TOS, Etrade......

Am I missing something? I realize that execution can be an issue with TOS or Etrade but what about Tradestation? Tradestation seems like a pretty comprehensive platform that can do anything people want and you aren't paying multi-100 dollars per month......

Thanks.

2. fan27

fan27

If what you currently have meets your requirements, then look no further. However, if you need to trade a portfolio of strategies where the strategy count could be in the hundreds you will quickly find the platforms you mentioned to be insufficient.

3. schizo

schizo

I also have been a long time user of TOS and, frankly, I love their charts. One major drawback is that they don't offer auto-trading, even though you can create a strategy using thinkscript.

Also TOS don't have complex orders, not even MIT orders.

Erv Jus Soli and comagnum like this.
  4. Interactive Brokers has a free API and cheap data.