Why is it that ALL brokers do not understand true latency?

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by sigsegvboogman, Dec 17, 2005.

1. You know what really drives me crazy: Brokers think they understand the term “Low Latency”. I have been trading algorithmic strategies now for over 5 years. We were doing this before it became “hot” on the street. Through that experience, we have learned so many things that have helped us survive all of these years and make money consistently.

What bothers me so much is that every damn broker we end up trading with has the same speech and pitch. It usually goes: We have the best this and that, best collocations, feed lines, api’s customer service blah blah blah blah. They obviously want your business, so they are going to do whatever it takes to get it. The funny thing is: Most of them believe what they say because it is all that they know. Some brokers are large and because of this, think they are the best. They have the money to buy the technology and hire the programmers to build the “lighting fast” API’s. The trouble is that they have no way of identifying what is TRULY considered “fast”. They assume they have it and that’s good enough. In their world: “It’s the best”. That goes for feeds as well: “We have direct fiber pipes” and we are at Harborside..blah blah blah. (Do I sound frustrated?)

The truth is that none of these guys look deeper into real latencies. Sorry, but a ping time doesn’t cut it. Most high speed customers do not complain if they feel the executions and service are adequate. Because of that, the brokers “don’t fix what isn’t broken”. Well, what about the few that do complain? What does it take to prove them wrong? And if you do prove them wrong, what does it take to make a difference and have them take action? My experience has almost always been that even once proven, they rarely take action.