Why go pro?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by dcwriter2, Sep 10, 2019.

1. Ok. Let's say I have 200k in an IB account and I grind out a decent return selling ES credit spreads or whatever. I am also a writer who deducts home office, research, etc. I may also run some money of family and friends (non-accredited investors) in the IB family and friends account management program.

All that said is there any reason to get a RIA/Series 3 or claim trader status with the IRS? Or incorporate a LLC/LP and call myself a hedge fund manager or CTA?

Seems to I would have to pay more on licensing, professional and exchange fees. I can only see doing it if I wanted to beat the bushes for substantially more assets.

All true? Exceptions? Caveats?

2. You basically have two choices.

1. Trade for yourself.

2. "Go pro" and trade for others (earning management fees) and put up with the costs and regulatory/compliance hassles... assuming the fees earned are worth the bother.*

*I know of this. At one point years ago, I had hundreds of clients. Compliance and record keeping consumed a significant amount of my time.

Last edited: Sep 10, 2019
    SimpleMeLike, Nobert and MattZ like this.
  3. speedo

speedo

You can form an entity and trade independently without professional fees. It varies from broker to broker but I simply had to sign an affidavit attesting to exclusively trading my own funds for personal gain. If you intend to trade OPM, that's another thing.

MattZ likes this.
  4. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

What you describe is a real *cusp* situation -- but is especially dependent on which of the 50 U.S. states you'd be filing.

You have already invested a bunch in organizational 'infrastructure' that, should your AUM or client-count double, you'd be well-positioned to scale up. The hanger will be the registration. (And getting the LLC done. And getting a competent tax attorney on-board.)