Why DOM is Deceiving

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by increasenow, Aug 28, 2007.

1. When considering the ES...here is why DOM "depth of Market" is deceiving...let's say that the "wall" if you will is +4,000 at the "ask" side or "buy orders"...well that can mean 2 things:
    #1-orders to buy believing that market will go higher
    #2-orders for shorts to cover/lock in profits and no real sentiment of where market will go

...so, really nothing can be gathered as far as future "price action" from the DOM...do you concur or am I not seeing something...this is a serious post and not joking...thanks!

2. if the dom never lied, we'd all be kabillionaires..

3. Lots of games are played on the dom increase. I would not put much effort into it. As the other post said, if the dom was 100% accurate, we'd all own a private island by now.

4. Big AAPL

Big AAPL

Although I am new to Futs (ES in particular). it seems that the DOM is a lot like the Level II screen in that there are many "false" bids (or offers), and many times participants will try to front run the genuine bids (or offers) then pull them, because big players can manipulate things like that. I take it for what it's worth: There are only two real pieces of information that cannot be fooled with. Last price and lot size. It's only natural to feel decieved when price reacts differently to what "appeared" on the DOM only moments before.

5. thanks ya'll...Texas talk...:p

6. gnome

gnome

Really? Seems like more than that keeping me from the ranks of the mega-rich.

7. syrre

syrre

Well, you never know if the orders are entry of a new position or closing (in your example covering a short) unless its your own or friends order.
    Not even the tape or anything else will tell you that.
    Is that the DOM's "fault"? I would say no.

The spoof with large orders of course can pull someone a trick now and then.

DOM is pretty honest, it tells you what is there.