Why Daytrade????

Discussion in 'Trading' started by retire45, Sep 3, 2007.

1. I see articles all the time on some that daytrade 100's of thousands of trades.. Doesn't this drive you MAD??? I am a swing trader.. the only time I end up with a daytrade is if I get stopped out the day of the trade. Me thinks swing trading is the ideal time frame (3 days to 10 days or so) to do well..

A stock breaks out of the neatest pattern I have ever seen.. As is sloshes back and forth intraday but on it's way to a traget 10 to 20% away on a daily basis why is the day trader taking scalps and going home flat?? Only if a truly gifted trader can show me a chart where he/she did much better (to cover commissions) will I understand why? Till then, my thoughts on why one days trades..:

1. Has no clue where the longer time frames/patterns are saying. During the late 90's I used to wonder how anyone could bear the sight of a weekly.. Now I cannot trade without one.

2. Insecurity about news events like earnings, 9/11.. Swing traders can avoid earnings reports.. I do. 9/11.. well stops can help here but one cannot quit holding stocks based on such a rare event.

3. So you can sleep better at night... So you have a runaway market.. the stress is even more getting back into positions you should have kept..

4. Has no patience whatsoever. The "sitting" required to make the killing is simply unbearable. Some people just have to "do something" all the time.. The "noise" can make almost anyone that cares to listen to it a daytrader. Anytime I watch a Level II it causes serious anxiety!

There must be other reasons because the ones above not good enough to me. Did daytrading ever create real wealth for anyone? We all know longer time-frames have... Or is daytrading purely for income? I find it hard to do anything only for income rather than becoming truly financially set.