Why can't I get to 50% chance even?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by tradeLearner, Sep 21, 2018.

1. Have started to be serious about trading a few months ago and learning all I can.

I have been reading on technical analysis by Robert Edwards and Magee, and I've been drinking from the firehose that is youtube etc.
    I am not looking to day-trade, but rather hold options for a few days or weeks.

My base assumption is that news influences price and I can't predict that really well, but I would think that TA gives me some form of edge. Knowing full well I'm completely new to this, I would assume my readings of the charts have any value, but I'm somewhat disappointed to find that I actually seem to be more wrong than right. I would have guessed it would be a toss-up at the worst.

I use Ichimoku, trade with the trade (so calls if it is above the cloud), wait for pullbacks to the mean, believe I understand resistance or support from Williams fractals and use RSI or a stochastic to confirm.
    I realize this is pretty much the most basic thing to do, but one has to start somewhere. Still, as soon as I start a trade (I even put in my journal words like: "wow, this can't go wrong") the market immediately proves me wrong :)

I'm not asking for anyone's setup, I understand that it is my journey to find my own edge and trading style.

Questions:
    - Is there some de-facto beginner resources that I should be aware off that should get me started? I'm reading books, but most seem to be written for the world of the 70's.
    - If the market is fickle, should I not still be at around 50%?
    - How long did it take you to start making sense of it all?

thank you kindly!

smallfil likes this.
  2. B/c of the commisions

lindq and beerntrading like this.
  3. _eug_

_eug_

Are your stops too tight?

Also you can be right less than 50% of the time as long as your winners are much larger than your losers.

comagnum likes this.
  4. tomorton

tomorton