Why are people so secretive here?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by pclark, Aug 27, 2008.

1. pclark

pclark

A little background first.

I am a network administrator as well as a professional photographer. In both my professions I have always gone out of my way to help others that were looking for help to succed. In the photography area I have even gone out of my way to help direct competitors. I have shown them everything I know. The truth is most people don't do what you tell them anyway but I figure that if I have show them what to do and how to do it it's up to them to make a go of it. That's how I was raised and I do feel that what we sew is what we reap in life. I am always ready to help someone who is looking for help.

Reading over the forums and going back serveral years I have read many posts from people searching for help. In a majority of the posts it seems like there are always those that post comments that are negative to what the origional poster was asking but then the person replying would never give them information to support their opposite view. One thread in particular about the validity of technical indicatiors. People would blatenly say "Indicatiors are rubbish and you have to know how to read the numbers" or I can trade just looking at price action". Then they would never say anything to help the person that was asking about indicators or give anything to support there position.

In my mind if you are going to disagree with someone you should tell them "Why" you disagree. That not only validates your stance but also helps them see where you are coming from.