who knows the star stocks in the great rebound of 1975?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by henry, May 25, 2005.

1. henry

henry

I'm now studying the history of the America's stock market in 1975. But I found everyone lose the memory of this year, but all still remember the crash of nifty fifty in 1974. Anybody knows which sector leaded the rebound in 1975?

2. What I recall is that the "nifty fifty" were leaders in the move into 1976. That was about it though for most of these companies. Stocks I remember from the general period were oil stocks. These were big winners over the next number of years. Houston Oil and Minerals (HOI), Mesa Petroleum (MSA) are a couple that come to mind. Mesa was Boone Pickens company. Teledyne was a fantastic company (TDY) for many years. Henry Singleton the CEO was a near legend at the time. Tandy (TAN). I wonder how many guys remember Rival Manufacturing (RIVL), the inventor of the crock pot. Or some of the CB radio stocks like Hy-Gain (HYGN?) or Johnson Controls. Then there was the gambling stocks around the legalization of gambling in New Jersey....Bally Manufacturing (BLY), and Resorts International (RSI?).

Small computers became a "thing" back in the 70's. Not sure about 1975 though. One that I recall was Pertec...it was one fantastic stock. What ever happened to them?

In 1975 everthing was so cheap that many stocks doubled literally overnight if they were bought at the bottom...so it was hard to tell who the "leaders" were. The move from the bottom in December 1974 to the intermediate peak in July 1975 was about 60% in terms of the down alone.

OldTrader

3. henry

henry

I'm very interested in the rebound of 1975, but I found it's very difficult to find the materials depicting this rally. In his How to Make Money William O'Neil said the best acting industry sectors in 1974 were oil and catalog showroom. Anybody have an idea?

4. henry

henry