who is still profitable in the forex?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by mounafia, Mar 5, 2009.

1. mounafia

mounafia

I have been trading the forex for 3 years...profitable every weeks for the last 8 months.

However for 3 weeks now, I am getting sick. I finish every day negative and I feel like I am back at the beguining.

I know that it is the market that does not fit my strategy and that I will have better time later...but I just want to know if people are able to manage gain in this type of market and what kind of strategy you are using (scalp ?):confused:

2. While the past 8 months seem amazing for you and u made money every week, thats great. But this is trading and things change and it just might be a little blip thats all. You also have to adapt to the market. Sure the market is tougher for some and better for others but we all have our trading plan and stick to it. But to adapt u need to devise a trading plan for choppy ranging markets as well as trending ones. I had to adjust slightly whether it be the profit target I am looking for the setups I like just have to go with what the market gives you. Do not let yourself go undisicplined and revenge trade. If you havent made money in the past few weeks you waited to long to adapt. A few days of losers u should realize your system is not working and you need to re think things for this type of market. Just my 2 cents. But you were doing something right for 8 months, go with that. If you have proper moneymanagent even though u lost for the past few weeks you should still have plenty of those gains left.

3. Just as an example... I've noticed since late January in the EUR/USD cross that it's acted choppier and has less longer term trend action than in previous months.

I don't know the time frames you trade or type of trading methods you use but very often what works well for a certain length of time will often stop working when the characteristics of the market begin to change.