Who is losing money on the street ?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by uniafly, Feb 10, 2008.

1. uniafly

uniafly

Hi !

I have been trading for almost 2 years. During my first 6 months made about $4500. Next year I made $50 000, from a $31 000 account.

Many people it seems like make a lot of money trading stocks, my question is who are those people who lose big money ?

If someone makes $10 million dollars, it means someone has to lose $10 million dollars.
    Such a risky business… why people subject their money especially big money to this kind of business like buying selling stocks ?

I honestly still hardly understand this trading business…

Who is losing money on the street ?

Another question for entire 6.5 hours someone is selling and buying certain stocks … for example WFC. I normally trade only at certain times of the day. But who are these folks who are buying selling non stop ? Market makers who make the market ?

Do marker makers have to pay a commission or a market maker can sell and buy from himself as many stocks and he wants ? Can they make a false volume ?

2. stocks are not a zero sum game.
    futures are.

let that fact sink in before asking anymore questions.

3. especially in bull markets by taking on alot of risk (though they don't think it's alot because they have yet to blow out). When the market transitions to a bear market they lose everything they "made" and some more since they were clueless as to how they made the money to begin with.

4. Ignoring transaction costs which are now very low...
    Short term trading in stock is a Zero Sum Game...
    Long term investing in stocks is not.

Pros practicing some form of arbitrage, market makers, and scalpers...
    Are usually hedged close to 50/50 long/short...
    And do not benefit from long term stock appreciation in any way.

This forum is about trading... not investing.

Let these facts sink in... before you post any more nonsense.

5. uniafly

uniafly