Who has made it back from the bottom?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by EEUT84, Nov 22, 2010.

1. EEUT84

EEUT84

Quick background info: I started trading full-time three years ago and quickly became profitable, attributing much of that to a generous market and a great mentor. I enjoyed healthy profits my first year and second year. I began to "push it" this year, and quickly banked six-figures in the first quarter of 2010. Then I hit a big loss...and another...and another. I couldn't handle the losses, 2/3rds of which were caused by my own lack of discipline, lack of experience with large losses, etc. In six months, I have dropped my account to almost 10% of what it was, but I still have more than what I started with.

My confidence is thoroughly shot now, I seem to enter nothing but wrong trades, and I have a number of expenses I've acquired since my success. My strategy does not work near as well as it used to, and I need a complete overhaul of my risk management structure.

I am working on a number of new ideas at the moment, which is daunting. I cannot afford to lose anymore out of my account (due to dumb trading, at least).

The loss was quick and caused a large spike in my anxiety. How can you manage this to get back on the horse? I am seeking the advice of career traders who have been to the edge and back. I am trying to re-invent myself and make it over this hump, but I am afraid I may have dug myself too deep a hole.

If you have been in my shoes before, it is harrowing. I still want to be a lifetime trader, if that makes any difference. All comments are appreciated, thanks in advance.

2. You must be joking , you lost 10% and you are complaining?

3. LeeD

LeeD

I think "to almost 10%" means the OP lost nearly 90% from the top of his (or her) gains.

4. EEUT84

EEUT84

Read that sentence again.

5. Roark

Roark