Which Swiss Govt Bond ?

Discussion in 'Financial Futures' started by J-Trade, Sep 18, 2010.

1. J-Trade

J-Trade

I have a longer-term account in which I want to switch the cash into bonds, specifically Swiss Govt bonds, ie. for security not yield (I'm told that in the case of the brokerage failing, cash would be lost but a bond belongs to the account holder - anyone know if this is true ?)

Which bonds should be held for this purpose : 2, 5, 10 or 30 year, or does it not really make much difference ?

I remember when I started trading in the US (I live in the euro zone), it was standard practice to hold a 30yr US bond, at least in a futures account.

2. Firstly, what you were told about your bond holdings in a broker's account doesn't necessarily have to hold, as far as I am aware. All depends on the exact phrasing of your contract with the broker, as well as the agreement between the broker and the custodian (e.g. State Street or BONY).

Secondly, be aware that liquidity in Confs (Swiss govt bonds) is not great, as there's not many of them arnd. If memory serves, there isn't actually a 30y Conf (I'll check Monday).

Thirdly, the question of which maturity bond to own is the one you have to answer yourself. On the one hand, the longer the maturity, the more yield you get (not that you get a lot of yield on Confs). The flip side is that your duration (interest rate risk) is that much higher. Pick yer poison...

3. J-Trade

J-Trade

Thanks for the response. As far as I can see, there is a 30yr.

I am already in the process of checking exactly how one would take possession of a bond in the event of broker default.