Which software to use for backtesting?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by benwm, Feb 14, 2011.

1. benwm

benwm

I am new to backtesting, but wanted to test some hunches of mine. I suggest we start a thread discussing the software options for backtesting potential trading systems using historical data.

In particular,
    - Which software have you have used and how much did it cost?
    - How was it? Ease of use, functionality, etc...
    - Where did you get your data? Did the software provider add historical data with the software or did the data come from someone else?
    - Did the time and money investment in backtesting pay off? Do you still backtest on a regular basis? Or did you try it, hit a dead end, and bin the project?

Screenshots are welcome.

Perhaps there are already some other threads discussing the options, if so, please kindly share?

Thanks everyone in advance...

2. It really depends on the time frame that you want to backtest and if you will be combining multiple time frames.

I wanted to backtest day trading ideas and found that not very many software packages available could do the following:

Mix daily and intraday timeframes with ease.
    Back-test multiple symbols at the same time.
    Back-test any single date or range of dates simultaneously on any symbol.
    Have a solution for continuous backtesting of multiple strategies, symbols, timeframes.
    The ability to mine data and find high probability trades.

All this was what I was looking for and I had to develop it on my own.

3. benwm

benwm

Thank trhudson for you reply. Which data source do you use?

And though I'm unlikely to build something from scratch (only as a last resort), which programming language?

4. I used data from a few sources and I extract my high /low from the data that I get on my own. Trying to combine multiple data sources is extremely difficult (for some reason).