Which one leads, index or future?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by etherboy, Jan 19, 2004.

1. etherboy

etherboy

I'm new to futures, and just started trading.

Can anyone tell me which one leads? The index, or the future? Like if DOW index keeps going up, then futures (Let's say YM) should be up too? Or sometimes futures lead? How do I decide? Do I watch future alone or should I watch both?

Is it that futures lead before market open, and indices lead after market open?

Can someone enlighten me?

Thanks.

2. I don´t think anyone leads all the time. If it did, market participants would notice and the difference would be gone. It´s a dynamic game with lots of arbitrage going on.

3. Hey etherboy,

I'll enlighten you. If anybody would know, he'll never tell you.

Be good,

nononsense

4. gnome

gnome

In a general sense they move exactly the same, but in off hours, the futures contract appears to *lead* simply because the cash market isn't open to reflect the new info which futures now reflects.

As for signaling a *move*, the futures will again appear to lead simply because the price change gets reflected more quickly there than on the tape.

There are also false leading moves as some player either hits the bids or offer and causes the futures to move momentarily, but that same speculation is never felt in the cash.

As far as there being a consistency of one leading the other for an astute trader to exploit.... there isn't one.

5. The futures leads in your example. You can use this in a powerful way.

If you see what appears to be the index leading, in short order you will find that the index will have a "failure" to really lead. It will then shift back to following the futures.