Which Offshore Jurisdiction?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Low Salubrity Thug, Mar 23, 2016.

1. I'm an indepedent trader, resident in the UK, and for various reasons I've decided the time is right to incorporate and move my trading operation offshore. Now, before anyone chips in with a diatribe about tax evasion, I'm doing this for legit wealth management reasons. I'm a reasonably successful person and not about to risk it all for a few extra illegal dollars.

I've had initial conversations with lawyers here in London, but would be interested in the opinions of other traders that have moved offshore. Most specifically, are there any jurisdictions which are recommended from a traders point of view, or likewise to be avoided? I'm only looking at established offshore jurisdictions with English as an official language, a legal/judicial system based on English Common Law, and decent international banking options. I'm not interested in Mickey Mouse locations such as the Seychelles, Belize etc.

Due to its reputation as the offshore centre for financial operations, I first looked at the Cayman Islands, but after some investigation I'm doubtful its the best place for me. Since I have no interest in turning the operation into a fund (either now or in the future) there seems little point taking on the extra expense and complexity of operating out of the Caymans.

As things currently stand, it looks like the British Virgin Islands is the best option. They offer the simplest and most cost effective structures which would allow me to achieve my aims.

Anyway, I can cover off the generic stuff with the lawyers. Just wondering if using the BVI is likely to cause me any problems from a trading perspective (e.g. obtaining exchange memberships, relationships with clearing firms etc)?

Thanks in advance for any opinions.

2. H2O

H2O

Did you consider Gibraltar?

3. AbbotAle

AbbotAle