which moving avgs do most traders use?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by cashclay, Apr 28, 2018.

1. cashclay

cashclay

I ve heard so many answers for this but the one that keeps popping up is the 10 50 200 all at once. do you guys agree?

2. Max E.

Max E.

intraday the only one i use is "VWAP", on daily charts the only two i use are the 50 day and the 200 day Simple moving average.

Last edited: Apr 29, 2018
  3. JSOP

JSOP

Simple and Exponential. I have used Recursive before but I find its effectiveness is a bit overrated.

4. expiated

expiated

You have answered your own question (the one in the title of this thread). As for whether I agree, I’m probably the only person on the planet who doesn’t, which is why I kind of see myself as a sort of Aristarchus of Samos or Nicolaus Copernicus of Forex trading.

....Expiated’s “numerical price prediction” moving average(s)...
    ScreenHunter_7628 Apr. 29 02.09.jpg

As a beginning trader, I found that the line segments appearing on a traditional line chart were so jagged that it was easy for me to mistake a temporary pullback in an upward or downward trajectory as a wholesale reversal in the overall trend.

In my opinion, the best solution to this problem was to replace such line segments with one or more moving averages, which I regarded as the most ideal solution to the problem in that moving averages reduce the number of confusing saw-toothed lines by foregoing the tedious task of connecting each individual data point, opting instead to calculate the average of a specified number of data points, and then drawing line segments that connected these alternate figures instead.