Which is better, an MBA or PhD?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by mrclean, Oct 15, 2005.

1. mrclean

mrclean

Where do you guys think the best salary and/or overall job opportunities in finance exist for a current physics student? A PhD, possibly in mathematical finance, or an MBA.

The PhD would probably be better to land a quant job, but I've recieved ambiguous info. about that career from browsing around these boards... I've read that it's a highly competitive, high paying job that everyone wants and I've read horror stories about working 12 hrs a day as a computer monkey, programming code and taking crap from traders.

Also, can you get into business school strait out of college, or do you need to work for a while first? I still have a lot of learning to do about this whole financial industry.. thanx

2. I'm a high school drop-out and I eat PhDs and MBAs in the open ForEx market - 24/7.

because I'm a currency trader.

not a college boy.

think it over.

skz

3. thn5625

thn5625

Try going to wilmott.com

The quants there say its best to get a phd in engineering, pure mathematics, statistics, physics. They will not weigh as heavily into financial mathematics believe it or not. They rather you take some electives in finance. Also, they want you to come from a top school.

As for the MBA, its not a way to go to be a quant- even from a top school its not quantitative enough for them.

Goldman Sachs will hire you as a trader from a good business undergrad program and of course a top MBA program.

Start trading as soon as possible because they dont teach you everything in school!

4. Neodude

Neodude