Which backtesting software to learn?

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by ericmoles, Dec 14, 2008.

1. I want to create end of day strategies on stocks and ETFs initially (futures as my account grows).

I have no programming experience, but I am willing to learn as long as I can get my ideas into code and test them.

It appears from ET searches that Trader Studio, Trading Blox, and Mechanica are great platforms.

Which languages do they use? How hard is it to learn each language? Which one would be the most versatile for the amount of learning involved? How do they compare in terms of support?

And why do I see Mechanica in so many searches, but no one seems to use it or have a review about it?

Thanks

2. If you think you have an idea that can provide an edge so that it will pay to get involved in a subject with a steep learning curve then you should do it.

If you think testing ideas is a convergent process to an edge there is a high probability you will be disappointed.

Regardless, I started my adventure with Tradestation and Easylanguage and I'm biased to that end.

3. Thanks Bill. I agree with you. My general philosophy is to start with a logical concept that I think will provide an edge, look for examples that prove there is an edge, look for false positives, and if you think it will still work, then computerize it.

The computer would aid in applying the idea to different market types and help apply the positive/false positive idea over more data and more quickly.

I've considered Trade Station. I want the ability to test a portfolio. I know you can get add-ons for TradeStation, but I haven't looked into them. Do you know of any good ones?

Also, I plan to trade fairly infrequently, or at a low enough size that I would end up paying the platform fee and the 'radar screen' fee. After a year of $160 per month ($1920), I could have bought Trader Studio almost 4 times.