Where to begin?

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by blackriver, Apr 8, 2023.

1. I have some programming background, and I'd like to try writing a program or algorithm to automatically trade stocks. I need to learn the mechanics of how this can be done. I need access to stock market data, and learn how people connect to the market to do the trading. Hopefully there are approaches that don't require a big investment to start experimenting.

Is there a book, website, or other source you would refer me to to start learing? I see several books on Amazon but it would be good if one of them has a good reputation or is a favorite among experienced people here.

Thanks much,
    Jim

2. themickey

themickey

My 2c.
    The fact you know programming but don't understand trading is OK, I don't see a problem so long as you take a right approach from here on, or should I better say, don't take the wrong approach.

Firstly, imo, 99.9% of new and growing traders attempt to emulate others.

My suggestion, don't go down this dead end route of copy catting substandard or the losers methods.

Second, don't attempt to code how to make money, begin to code how to prevent losses.

Third, don't attempt to code an auto system (yet).

Code so you get signals which can be discretioanally traded on positions which show the best chance of not catching you out and taking away your money.

If you can do that, you are already way ahead of the game.

3. Knowing how to develop applications gets you an advantage until you reach a point where you need an edge.
    Once you are comfortable with an API and have your applications set up you will need to trade discretionary for a while, in order to understand how a trader would think. Specially to understand the way discretionary traders would lose money.
    If you manage to find an edge you will be in a position to automate it, until then whatever automation that you are able to achieve is useless.