Where should I start???

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Sharp, Jul 8, 2002.

1. Sharp

Sharp

Hello everyone.

I guess I am the newest member to Elite Trader. I have been reading the post for a couple of days now so I decided to sign up and ask my question. Here goes.

I am very new to the trading arena, but not the stock market. I have been a financial planer for the last year. (Series 6 not 7) I just became sick of cold calling people all day long to try and make money by selling them on the fact that I know what to do with there money. In my opinion no one should use financial planners (only an opinion). Anyway with my refusal to cold call I found myself unable to meet my monthly quota for new accounts. For this reason I was, let’s just say temporarily let go.(Who Cares!)

I have been reading many books about trading and what I have found is that even with my knowledge of the stock market I have no idea of how to trade stocks. I have been learning so many new things it blows my mind.

I want to start trading. Right now I will do it full time until I go back to work in a couple months. I would eventually like to trade full time, but I know that I have a long way to go before I reach that point.

My question is where do you think I should start? Let me say this, I have $5,000 I am going to put in a trading account. I know that this is not much but it is all I have for right now. I could margin that amount to 10,000 dollars but then I would be limited to trading only 3 times per week. Or I could just trade my cash and trade as much as I want, (remember I am not working).