Where should I route my orders?

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by sloth, Feb 14, 2009.

1. sloth

sloth

I am new to direct access brokers and I am very confused with the fact that I can route my orders to different exchanges and ECNs.

So are there any links to resource to explain the differences between those stock exchanges/ECNs or someone can answer my questions?

1. For a limit order, let's say UTL, a NYSE listed stock, has bid price 20.65 and ask price 20.85. If I submit a buy order of 100 shares at 20.66 and I want it to be filled when the next market sell comes, where should I route my limit order? If I compare INET openbook and NYSE openbook for UTL, I can see that INET book has only part of the orders listed on NYSE book, so I guess I would have a better shot to route my order to NYSE?

2. On the other hand, for CODI, a Nasdaq listed stock, NYSE openbook doesn't include such stock, so does it mean Nasdaq/INET would give the best chance to fill my limit order?

3. Back to UTL example, if on NYSE book the bid-ask prices are 20.65 and 20.85, but on INET book the bid-ask prices are 20.55 and 20.95. If I route a buy order of 20.56 to INET, is there any possibility that my order will be filled when a market order is routed to INET (assuming market doesn't move by then)?

4. Does INET equal to Nasdaq? I can't find a definitely answer.

5. Some articles says "limited order are normally routed to ECNs", why is that and what's the pros and cons to route it to exchanges vs ECNs?

Sorry for so many questions and thanks for your help in advance!

sloth

2. Suppose there are three bids placed at the best price of 80.65
    now a sell order(80.65) routed thru arca arrives... then the arca bid will get filled. If a sell order thru inet arrives then the inet guy gets the fill. Hence by watching the tape of a stock (wether most incoming orders are thru NYS or ARCA or INET) you should guess which ecn to route thru.