Where is the edge?

Discussion in 'Options' started by Capt Hobbes, May 14, 2013.

1. Hi all,

So I've been looking into options for the past 9 months or so, reading up on volatility and practicing in toy (single contract) sizes. It's all very fascinating, and Dr Cottle's "Hidden Reality" book has got to be most interesting read I've done in a while.

But I can't get rid of this nagging doubt. Take iron condors, for example, and any of the good books about them. They make it sound almost too easy. Like Benklifa's book says, just trade the math. Sell delta 10-12 two months out, buy further strikes, wait, exit, repeat. What's nagging me is if there is a statistical edge in that sort of setup, why aren't the big players doing the same in bulk and shrink the credit you receive until it's a tossup? And if the edge is not directly in expected payoff, where is it?

2. jb514

jb514

True, a lot of people believe being way out of the money is an edge. I studied options for about a year or so and the one thing I learned was that I couldn't find an edge. There are even a couple guys at my firm who trade options that think vol collapse from earnings is an edge.

3. Maverick74

Maverick74

There is no edge. It's a lot like religion. It's a system of belief. Belief is very powerful. If it can drive one to fly a plane into a building, it can certainly convince one that selling 10 delta spreads has an edge. And the funny thing about belief is that no amount of reasoning will ever change their mind. It is what it is. I wouldn't get worked up over it. Trade what you feel comfortable trading.

4. Doobs789

Doobs789

There is no edge in trading this type of strategy, although many people think there is. Rolling an iron condor, or any type of option trade, is not a strategy. Take a position on either price or vol.

5. No edge in this approach.