Where do you put your stops in at?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by koonsdawg, Sep 1, 2005.

1. I have been trading stocks for five years now. Nothing serious just buy and hold. Well I got sick of that and wanted to make more than 10% in a year on my money. So in the past 6 months I have been learning how to trade more aggresively. I have found what I think to be a pretty good strategy of trading. So here is my question: Where do you put your stops in at? I mean do you always put them in at like a X% loss. When I started trading for reals I would put in a stop order at a 2% loss right after I placed my short order. What I found was that I would almost always hit my stop and take a 2% loss. So I figured I would raise my stop to a 3%, that helped a little. But I was still hitting my stops more than I would hit my target profit. I started to notice that if I wouldnt have had a stop and just held on for an hour or so I would have made 2-3% on my trade instead of loosing. So I stopped putting stop orders. And I started to do the opposite, immediatlely after placing a short order I would place a limit buy to cover order at 2%. This was working awesome, I was taking my profits at 2% everytime. This worked good for about a month and I was consistently making 3-4% a day. Well all it took was two bad trades and I was back where I started a month ago. So I would like to get some advice on how I can manage my risks better? The stocks I trade are verry volatile. So putting in a stop at 3% is way to close for comfort. What would you guys recommed? thanks in advance for your help.
    -Brandon
    I hope all that made sense, if not let me know and I can clarify.

2. Ah ... the secret magic number for stops is ... Well, there isn't one.

Stops can be a surprisingly deep topic that you can talk about for hours with no agreement.

It's a like a loose thread on a sweater - one tug and you might unravel your personal beliefs on how markets work.

3. kut2k2

kut2k2