Where do I start?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by vk60546, Jun 25, 2006.

1. vk60546

vk60546

Hi All,

I need your advise on where I should start . I'm a total newbie when it comes to trading, have about 2K to play with (i.e. this is the amount of cash I can affort to loose).

I'd be willing to engage in shorting stocks, but I'd have to do practice it first until I can reasonably forsee the outcome.

Is there an account that I can setup and trade for practice using 'funny money'?

Lastly, is there a statistic on trading that shows how many people actually loose money trading?

Thanks to you all in advance for replies.

2. What trade duration (timeframe) appeals to you?

3. Pekelo

Pekelo

Just out of curiosity: why do you want to be a trader? Also, what makes you think you could succeed at it?

I have to give you good points for:

-you decided to get educated first
    -deciding to play with funny money first
    -even after that, you allocated a small amount that you can afford to lose

and finally:

-you came to ET to get your education!! :)

Those were all good decissions, so you might have a future in trading. As answers to your questions:

-most brokers have a papertrading account where you can practice, but if you are honest, you can do it literally on paper

-the most widely quoted number is a 90+% failure rate, thus the odds are against you

- ET has a search function, and most likely all of your questions were already answered in an earlier post. Just try to use the correct searchterms

Welcome, and good luck!!!

4. vk60546

vk60546

I'd prefer to make money right away (within a day) so I'd probably lean toward day trading.

5. vk60546

vk60546

Thanks for your comments. What are the search terms you would use (if you were me) to learn about all aspects of day trading (as an example) or other short term opportunities?