Where can I get info. on premarket gaps for YM futures ??

Discussion in 'Trading' started by jimmygold, Feb 19, 2007.

1. Use strategy Runner and I am fairly new to trading YM. Been starting to fad premarket Gaps at the cash open for short term gap fills.
    I have been using CNBC at about 9:15 am to see if dow futures are gapping up or down. And base the fade trade on this. Is there another place I can find whether dow futures are gapping up or down from previous day close ??

And when fading at the opening is it alright to base it on the dow futures or do I need to base my gap play on the actual YM and whether it is gapping down or up in premarket ??
    If so where do I find this??
    I Cant find the exact number at Strategy Runner when looking at historical charts for the day. In otherwards I cant find the YM price at the previous day's close of the cash market.

I know this is simple stuff I should know and pardon my naivete !!

thnkx

2. notouch

notouch

Set any YM chart to 24 hours and you see the pre-market prices.

3. rcj

rcj

JGold,
    Ym closing price is here along with other data:

http://www.cbot.com/cbot/pub/page/0,3181,1560,00.html

There are several dow fut contracts. Which do you want to trade?

... rj

4. So that previous settle of 12787 is where the YM closed Friday ??
    And the Net change +2 is the premarket gap up price (so to speak) ??

Also is the change in YM price determined by the Dow Index itself or is the price directly affected by the supply and demand of the actual YM future contracts that are traded ?

I hear YM follows the flow of the Dow 30.
    But then I hear it follows Volume of the YM contracts traded.
    Confused to which one :confused:

5. Why use CNBC? Your broker should supply you with quotes if you are trading. Use this page from CBOT if you don't have live quotes :

http://www.cbot.com/cbot/pub/page1/1,3248,432,00.html

Its the live book for the YM and DD. You can also find a live option book in the same area.